Title: The Monk Who Sold His Ferrari: A Fable About Fulfilling Your Dreams

Date Completed: 7/18/2011

Author(s): Robin Sharma

Copyright: 1991, HarperCollins

# pages: 198

Genre: Self Help

ISBN: 978-0-06-251567-4

NOTE:  I read this book in April 2010, so this is a repost of the review I did then.  This is a book that has to be re-read about once a year, so I just picked it back up and learned from it all over again.

I subscribe to a magazine called Success, and last month’s issue had an article about Robin Sharma.  They mentioned this book, and I was at the library that afternoon checking it out.  I have to admit, I was intrigued by the title.  I also liked the fact that his first copies of the book were printed and bound at Kinkos.  He wrote the book and didn’t base his success on whether or not he got published.

As you may know, I’m a self-help junkie.  I love this stuff, I freely admit.  I’m put a ton of it to practice in my life, and I really believe in it.  This is the kind of book that is good for the casual self-help reader because it delivers the message through a story rather than in a more textbook-type style.

Through the story of a successful lawyer whose life is out of balance, we learn the 7 virtues of enlightened living.  I like stories like this because you get into the story and forget that you are learning something.  And, ultimately, it is easier to remember what you learned because it isn’t a list of 7 virtues that you are trying to memorize.  It is a story with a plot line that includes the 7 virtues.  If you remember the story, you remember the virtues.

 

I’ll share my favorite virtue with you.  It is called ‘practice kaisen.’  Kaisen is the Japanese word for constant and never-ending improvement.  He talks about doing things that you fear in order to broaden your horizons.  He isn’t telling you to jump out of planes.  But, if you do things you fear, you gain courage.  When you gain courage, you start to see that  you can do the things you feel will make you happy, but you’re too scared to try.  For me, starting Building a Bookshelf is right up there.  I’ve always wanted to contribute in some way.  Last year, when I decided to grab the bull by the horns, I was scared.  But, I did it anyway.  I don’t know all of the answers when it comes to starting a charity, but I have the courage to give it a try and see where it leads.

After I finished the book, I returned it to the library and drove straight to the bookstore and bought myself a copy.  This is one that will be read and re-read so that I can remind myself that I am living an abundant life.

