Title: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone

Date Completed: 7/21/2011

Author(s): J.K. Rowling

Copyright: 1997, Scholastic

# pages: 309

Genre: Fiction

ISBN: 0-590-35342-x

I must tell you up front that I’m a huge Potter geek.  Yes, I was waiting at midnight when the new books were released.   No, I wasn’t dressed up.  I was originally very anti-HP.  We were in Scotland in 2000 and everywhere you went you heard that J.K. Rowling had had coffee here, J.K. Rowling had lived there.  I was rolling my eyes the whole time.

Then, I got home and my mom had read it and told me I had to.  So, finally I broke down and read it just to find out what all the hype was about.  Within an hour, I was hooked.

I don’t have to write a summary of the book.  You can find about a million on line if you don’t already know what the book is about.  What I will tell you is this – if you haven’t read it, you should.  If for no other reason than this is a book that has coaxed thousands (if not millions) of kids into reading and you should find out why.

After seeing the final movie on release day, I had the overwhelming urge to re-read the series.  So, I picked up book 1 and was immediately taken into the world of magic.  We all know that the book is always better than the movie.  What caught me by surprise is how much the movie has influenced me into thinking it is the story of Harry Potter.  There were so many things that I had forgotten.  Don’t let the movies (which, I think are excellent, by the way) be your substitute for sitting down and reading the book.  You’ll be glad you did.

