Title: Floors
Author(s): Patrick Carmen
Genre: Children’s Fiction

Based on the name, I had no idea what to expect when I opened Floors to the first page. Within minutes, I was hooked. It is a mystery and fantasy rolled into one, and I like the fact that it gives kids who don’t like science fiction another option. Although it is fantasy (a hotel where the rooms have elaborate themes and the ducks seem to know what you are saying to them), it is not science fiction. It is what I like to call ‘good old fashion’ fantasy. This is a great book for both boys and girls, which makes it that much better, in my opinion. If you are looking for a great book for a 9-12 year old, pick this one up.

Leo lives in the Whippet hotel with his dad, who is the handyman. When the owner of the hotel disappears, Leo finds himself involved in solving a mystery, and along the way finds out a lot about this very mysterious hotel, and makes a new friend. In the end, he also learns about loyalty.

